t5w

Happy Hump Day!

It’s that time of the week again, folks. Top 5 Wednesday. Created by Lainey at gingerreadslainey, but is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes. You can click here to check out the GoodReads group.

I had every intention of filming a video again this week for Top 5 Wednesday, but I just got home from work and I feel disgusting and hot and disgusting. No way was I going to subject anyone to that.

not-today-gif

So, I’m sticking to the blog this week. I mean, who knows, maybe I’ll film a video tomorrow since it’s my day off and I’ll have ample opportunities to freshen up and make myself look semi-decent. It all depends on my mood, tbh.

635925470935943185-1048246726_7768838_kanye-west-takes-on-rolling-stone-and-billboard_t518d9f5d

Anyway, moving on. This week’s Top 5 is about the books that intimidate me, and man, do I have a lot. But I narrowed it down somehow, so let’s get started, shall we?

In no particular order…

5. The Divergent Series by Veronica Roth

divergent-trilogy-covers

I know, I know. This is one of those trilogies that’s hyped to high heaven, even the movies (of which I don’t plan on seeing for the same reason as TFiOS). I actually started to read Divergent at one point, but I didn’t make it very far. I think I put the book down indefinitely at the point where what’s-her-face decided to go by Tris, or whatever. Which is pretty much the beginning, lol. I own all three books, but because of how hyped this series is, I’m afraid that it’s all going to fall flat for me. Maybe I’ll try again at a later date, but for now, they’re staying on my shelf.

4. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin

Bookset

So, yeah. Pretty self-explanatory, I guess. I didn’t want to read these books until I started watching the show (not to mention, I came in late to the game, just before the second season aired), and then I did want to read them, but I put them off because I didn’t want to spoil myself by essentially reading ahead. But now that the sixth season is almost upon us, and George R.R. Martin hasn’t finished writing the sixth book (or seventh, I guess, if you count the second “A Storm of Swords” that maybe exists), I can start in on this series finally and get all the little juicy bits in-between that might not have made it into the show (which is understandable; it’d be five hours for one episode).

3. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

393848_090620202427_wuthering-heights-book

I only wanted to read this one because it was mentioned only about five million times in the Twilight series. Tried reading it once. Couldn’t do it.

2. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte

3893997

In high school, we had this reading list with a bunch of books that we could read, and I stupidly chose this one to tackle first. Made it about halfway through before I had to quit because I realized that the further I continued on, the more I forgot what happened in previous chapters. It came to a point where I couldn’t remember anything. Haven’t picked it back up since. I don’t even know where it is…

1. Pride & Prejudice by Jane Austen

3cef8847616827b7be9d67ddfd01c7a7

I don’t know what it is about this book, but every time I decide to crack it open and read it, I can never get past the first goddamned page. Like, it’s crazy. My mom’s actually the same way. We like to joke about it, saying things like if we ever need help going to sleep, this is the book to do it, because for some reason, before I get to the end of the first page, I’m already doing one of these numbers:

animation-2

That about sums it up…

So, those are my Top 5 intimidating books. Pride & Prejudice, I just really wanted to use that last .gif because it sums up my pain so well. Maybe I’ll try reading it again, but for the time being, I’d much rather read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies before tackling Jane Austen, beloved as she might be.

À bientôt!

Sarah

4 thoughts on “T5W: Books That Intimidate Me | #2

    • Definitely, yes. There are other classics that I plan on reading (The Great Gatsby, The Picture of Dorian Gray, etc.), only because they seem way more interesting than Jane Eyre. Like, even the title bores me, lol.

      Like

  1. At first GoT intimidated me but one day I decided out-of-the-blue to pick it up and read it and I was sucked in. Don’t waste your time on Divergent. The first one is awesome but the rest of the series isn’t good at all. Basically all classics intimidate me.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

