Bookshelf Additions #2

tumblr_static_tumblr_m3xxfomrrq1r2a2jmo1_500

Have you guys ever bought any books online only to forget that you did until they show up on your doorstep (or mailbox)? I do. In fact, these two books that recently arrived is exactly what happened.

If you don’t follow my Instagram (@harasnicolereads), I posted two photos of each book I received, and both had me so captivated by the summary when I ordered them, that I immediately started reading one because I couldn’t wait even though I’m supposed to be reading the final book in the Maximum Ride series. As it is, I’m already struggling to get into it because the previous book left a lot to be desired (and Dylan still exists. Boo), so I’m going back to reading multiple books at once, when the mood strikes me. If I want to go back to another, I can at any moment, but sometimes a girl just needs a f***ing break.

ANYWAY. Moving on. The books.


28482571

So. This book. First off, how ’bout that cover, hey? Isn’t it gorgeous in all its simplicity? That’s the paperback version, what I have. I almost a hardback copy, but then I saw this and I just… it just… look how pretty it is.

Anyway, this book is about a girl named Maisie who’s burned in a terrible accident that partially destroys her face. After receiving a face transplant, she realizes how much her looks shaped her relationship to the world, and thus leads to her redefining her own identity.

. . .

15726915

Now, this book. Oh, man, this book.

It’s about a girl named Alexi who’s struggling to come to terms with something that happened to her during the summer. I don’t know if this is considered a “spoiler,” but at the very least, what I’m about to say is a trigger warning for those who may need it: this book deals with rape. It also deals with domestic violence and a boy named Bodee (Like “Brody,” just minus the ‘R’) who has his own sh*t storm to deal with. Anyway, Alexi spends time in her closet compulsively scratching her neck and obsessively counting the lines in her vent (and the spaces in-between), and then next thing she knows, Bodee is staying with her for the time being.


So, those are the books I’ve gotten this week, and there will definitely be reviews of both once I’m done. Faking Normal first, since that’s the one that I’m currently reading.

Also, if you do decide to pick up a copy of “Faking Normal,” the hardback has a tree design underneath the dust jacket.

That’s all for now. I’d love to stay and chat, but it’s midnight where I am and I need to get some sleep.

What new books have you bought recently? Let me know in the comments. 🙂

Until next time,

-Sarah

 

Leave a Reply

