Review: Asylum by Madeleine Roux

13597728

Amazon | Goodreads

Summary: Three teens at a summer program for gifted students uncover shocking secrets in the sanatorium-turned-dorm where they’re staying. Secrets that link them all to the asylum’s past.

The Plot: I loved it, if I’m being honest. The story is told from Dan Crawford’s point-of-view, and Abby, Jordan, and he are all staying in a dormitory that used to be a sanatorium while they participate in a ten-week college prep program, and things start to get wild when they break into the old office that’s been deemed off limits. The more Dan and Abby visit, the more obsessed they become — her with her aunt’s patient history, and Dan with a serial killer who was experimented on by the Warden who shares Dan’s name.

The Characters: Dan, Abby, Jordan, and Felix are the main ones, but there’s also a bunch of side characters that tie in somewhere.

Something I Liked: The setting. I’ve had a love for the macabre for as long as I can remember, and insane asylums, especially abandoned ones, have always fascinated me. So much so that it’s on my bucket list to spend the night in one (the Trans-Allegheny Asylum is at the top of my list).

Something I Disliked: The romance between Dan and Abby. Honestly, I don’t think it was necessary.


This book may have scathing reviews, but I really did enjoy this one, and I can’t wait to get into the second book, Sanctum. Despite the romance, I still give this book a 5 out of 5, and I’m not ashamed for it. I think I’m lucky that I came into these books as late as I did, because I got to form my own opinions with others influencing me.

And I know that at least half of the negative reviews mention the fact that Asylum is suspiciously similar to the movie of the same name that came out before the book, and that there’s speculation on whether the author knew that and used it as inspiration, or copied the movie and just turned it into a YA novel, but I don’t have time to debate either point, so I won’t.

If you’ve read the book and hated it, great. If read it and loved it, great. If you’ve been meaning to, pick it up, it’s a good, quick read. If I wasn’t working so much this week, I could have finished in less than the five days that it took me.

Until next time,

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

