Heeeeeey. Long time, no see! Sorry about that. Work, life. Life’s hard, y’all.

Anyway, it’s been… I don’t know how long since I’ve done a Top 5 Wednesday, so. In case someone’s forgotten: Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme involving book bloggers and booktubers alike, and we select five books that fit the theme for that week. This week’s theme is favorite authors that you want to write another book, but the catch is to “try to keep it to books that have not announced anything concrete about a new book, not authors who have a highly anticipated release before the end of 2016.” Top 5 Wednesday was created by Lainey, and is now hosted by Sam at Thoughts on Tomes. If you’d like to check out the Goodreads group, click here.

So. Authors that I want to write another book. Now, I honestly thought about including George R.R. Martin in this, but considering that I’m still on the first Game of Thrones book and nowhere near ready to read The Winds of Winter when it does finally come out, I decided not to because I feel like that’s cheating. I mean, we all know that the book is there, just not its release date, so it doesn’t even fit this week’s theme, anyway.

This is what I came up with instead:

5. Dan Brown

I don’t care if it’s another Robert Langdon novel or just a standalone, but I absolutely love Dan Brown’s work despite what everybody else says. Especially the Robert Langdon novels because, even though they’re more or less the same, I never fail to lose myself in the story, and honestly, at the end of the day, that’s all that I’m looking for.

4. Sarah Dessen

I’m planning on doing a complete re-read of her books soon, so she’s been on my mind a lot lately. I don’t know if she has anything planned, I don’t follow her much on any social media (except maybe Instagram), but I would love it if she put out another book. Her books are perfect summer reads even when it’s not summer, and more often than not, they’re light and breezy and quick to get through.

3. Sandra Evans

In case you missed my review on This is Not a Werewolf Story, I mentioned towards the end how much I’d love a sequel to the book because where it ended, and how it ended, there’s definitely enough material for one and I would love to know what happened with Raul’s mother, both as a human and as White Wolf.

2. David Baldacci

I’ve only read one book by him (Zero Day), but he quickly became a favorite author of mine for the simple fact that I was able to lose myself in the one book I did read, and as aforementioned above, at the end of the day, that’s all I’m looking for. I don’t know if he has anything in the works, but if he does, then I can’t wait to read it. Until then, I think I saw that I have at least two other books by him that I haven’t gotten to, yet, that can tide me over.

1. Khaled Hosseini

From the first time I read The Kite Runner, I’ve just been… obsessed with Khaled Hosseini’s work. He’s the first author whose book I picked up knowing that it was going to be set somewhere within the Middle East (Afghanistan, I believe) and never did I think I’d love it as much as I do. Then A Thousand Splendid Suns came out, a story revolving around two separate, but connected women, and I fell in a love a little more. When I found out that he put out another book, And The Mountains Echoed, I impulse-bought the shit out of it because, well, because it was Khaled Hosseini. And The Mountains Echoed was a little bit more… complex, I guess, for me to follow, at least in regards to narration (there’s more than one, if I remember correctly. More than two, actually). So, yeah, if he’s not currently working on anything, then he should because I love the stories he tells and would love to read something new.

.

.

.

So, there you have it! My Top 5 Wednesday list of favorite authors that I want to write another book. Towards the end, I was tempted to add James Patterson, but seeing as he puts out about 30 books a year, I never have to wait long for a new one to hit the shelves, whether it’s an Alex Cross novel, or the start or continuation of another series.

Until next time,

Sarah

4 thoughts on “T5W: Authors You Want To Write Another Book

  1. I have been meaning to read A Thousand Splendid Suns but haven’t got around to yet. I suggested my boss and she said she cried so much after the read. Great list! I do like Dan Brown’s books too. They keep me at the edge of my seats hehe

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

