I’ve been wanting to do this tag so badly for awhile, but couldn’t decide if I wanted to post it to this blog, or make a video for my YouTube channel. Then I was notified that Lara at The Heathen tagged me, so that basically solved all my questions. If you haven’t checked out her blog yet, I don’t know what’s stopping you. Anyway, thanks Lara. Let’s get to the rules already.

. . .

RULES:

  • Mention the creator of the tag (Ayunda at Tea & Paperbacks)
  • Thank the blogger who tagged you!
  • Choose one of the options, you donโ€™t have to tell the reasons why you chose that but you can also do them if you want to.
  • Tag 10 other people to do the tag and spread the love!

. . .

1. Reading on the Couch vs. Reading on the Bed

I can never seem to get comfortable enough on my bed to lose myself in a book, so I choose the couch. Or in my case, the armchair because I’m more comfortable in awkward positions.

2. Main Character: Male or Female?

Neither. Being female, it’s difficult for me to get into a story with a character of my gender because a lot of the times, I find them to be cliche, and as much as I enjoy reading a male’s point of view, it’s difficult finding a book that does them justice because a lot of authors (mostly female) have a tendency to make their male characters too feminine-thinking and unrealistic. Honestly, the only time I even read from a male’s perspective is if the book is a gay one. Preferably written by Josh Lanyon.

3. Snacks: Sweet or Salty (when reading)?

I’m not much of a sweet tooth anymore, so salty all the way. Which can also describe my mood when someone or something pisses me off… ๐Ÿ˜‰

4. Trilogies or Quartets?

Trilogies. Nine times out of ten, anything past three is one book too many, but at the same time, with trilogies, each subsequent book should be better than the previous one and the story should make sense. Unless it’s Josh Lanyon. He can write way more than a quartet of series and I’ll still read them because they’re just that amazing (in my humble opinion).

5. First-Person or Third-Person POV (Point of View)?

Honestly? It depends on the book. I read a lot of first-person narratives, so I can appreciate those, but third-person has its merits, too. I won’t get into those here, but I will say that third-person helps me get into the story if it’s a suspenseful thriller or crime drama or, hell, even romance. First-person I love for things like Young Adult or Contemporary or Middle Grade. Like I said, it all depends on the book.

6. Reading at Night vs In the Morning

In the morning, for sure. I used to be able to read at night before bed, but as I’ve gotten older, I’ve discovered that I’d rather sleep than read (and harking back to the first question, I just can’t get comfortable on a bed, anyway). However, the second I wake up and take care of business that involves coffee, I’ll grab whatever I’m currently reading and curl up in my armchair and just read for as long as I can before I have to start getting ready for work.

7. Libraries or Bookstores?

Libraries, mostly, because I’m renting books to see if I like them enough to buy a copy, but I also prefer online because they’re generally cheaper. I’m not just talking BookOutlet cheap, either. Amazon has some good deals, if you know where to look, too.

8. Books That Make You Laugh vs Books That Make You Cry

I’d rather laugh than cry, but if a book can make me cry, then it’s one of the better ones to me. Then again, that could just be proof that I’m a sucker for happy endings, especially if it’s a romantic one. So, I guess books that make me cry wins this round.

9. Black or White Book Covers?

White, hands down. I buy books with dark covers, obviously, but the white ones are always more artistically well done and the colors pop out more, grabbing the reader’s attention.

10. Character-driven or Plot-driven Stories?

Again, for me, it depends on the book. For the most part, I think I’m more into plot-driven stories because if a book has a shitty plot, I won’t keep reading, and I don’t think I’ve ever DNF’d a book I was reading over a character. If the book’s really well written, then there will be a perfect mix of both, but that’s obviously not often the case.

. . .

I tag… I don’t know. Whoever hasn’t done this tag, I guess. You, if you’re new here.

Well, that was fun. I really had to think about a lot of these answers, because I never gave much thought to my “habits” before. It was very insightful for me. Hope it was the same for you.

Until next time (probably tomorrow, because it’s Wednesday).

Sarah

2 thoughts on “This or That Book Tag

Leave a Reply

