T5W: Books I Will Never Read

wednesday

It’s another easy one this week. I feel like I have quite a lot of books that I won’t ever read, and most of them are because of the Booktube hype, or just simply because they don’t sound even remotely interesting.

Before we get started, let me just point out that Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme on Goodreads, created by Lainey and hosted by Samantha, where both book bloggers and Booktubers share their “answers” to that week’s theme. This week, in case you couldn’t tell by the title of this blog, is about choosing five books that you will never read. The books can be from a series you won’t finish, or stand-alone novels, just so long as it’s a book that you don’t plan on reading. I’m generally a follower of the “Never say never” philosophy, but even I have my limits when it comes to books.

So, let’s get on with it, shall we?

. . .

5. The Divergent Trilogy

divergent-trilogy.png

About a year ago, I finally decided to start Divergent, mostly because the hype of the movies was dying down somewhat, and I felt like I’d have a better chance of getting into the series without the die-hard fans screaming how much they love it in my ear (or on Twitter, if you want to get technical. Either way, the fans tend to get obnoxiously loud, but I get it. I’m the same with Maximum Ride; y’all should know that by now. 😉 ). Unfortunately, I didn’t last very long. I think I made it to the part where Beatrice changed her name to Tris, and I just… set the book down, all calm and cool and collected.

17087776.gif

4. Fifty Shades of Grey Trilogy

Fifty-Shades-Reading-Adventures.JPEG-0fae0.jpg

There are so many reasons why I will never read this series, but those reasons are far too many to list in this blog, but if you’ve never read the review written by Katrina Passick Lumsden over on Goodreads, most of my issues are what she talked about, but they’re also based on old, old, super-old Twilight fan-fiction history when this series went by a different title: Master of the Universe. It’s a bitter history, too. I never witnessed it, but I’m friends with people who have, and that alone just put me off everything E.L. James plans to write in the future. That, and the writing, from the little that I gleaned while randomly flipping through is just abysmal quality.

3. The Hobbit and Lord of the Rings Trilogy

I just can’t. I tried, and I failed. This series just doesn’t interest me. Nothing about Middle Earth interests me. Not even the movies could save it. They’re just so… boring.

joey2.gif

2. The Selection Series

the-selection-series.jpg

I know these books get high praise from almost everyone who’s read them, but I’ve never really been into anything involving some sort of princess or wannabe-princess, unless we’re talking Disney. I don’t care for the covers, either. That’s probably the biggest reason I’m so turned off from this series.

1. Life and Death

48141990.cached

I honestly had no intention of ever reading this book. The only reason it’s on my bookshelf is because it was for the tenth anniversary of Twilight and I have the entire series of that, so why not get this one, too? But I don’t care about the gender swap. I don’t even know why it’s even a thing. Stephenie Meyer knows us fans really want Midnight Sun, even she wants it (she talks about it in the acknowledgments), but decided on this version instead.

tumblr_m2apeem1w01rqfhi2o1_400.gif

. . .

Welp. That’s it for this week. Next week is the beginning of a new month for T5W, and I can’t wait to see what Sam has in store for us.

Until next time, then.

TTFN.

-Sarah

5 thoughts on “T5W: Books I Will Never Read

Leave a Reply

