Top Ten Tuesday #1

Top-Ten-Tuesday-Banner.jpg

So, this is my first ever Top Ten Tuesday post. Normally, I don’t participate, but this week’s theme is TV-related, and considering that I watch a lot of it, I figured this was perfect and I needed something to post, anyway.

Before I jump into it, Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by The Broke and the Bookish, and is open to everybody. Since it’s TV-related this week, I almost chose to do something about the ten new Fall shows that I’m most excited to watch, but the more I thought about it, the more I realized that I wanted to talk about my ten most favorite shows that got canceled after one season.

Let’s jump right in, shall we?

. . .

TOP TEN FAVORITE SHOWS CANCELED AFTER ONE SEASON

10. Moonlight

mick-iama-vampire.gif

This is the show that introduced me to the goodness that is Alex O’Loughlin. It was a show about a vampire private investigator who ended up falling in love with a mortal woman. That’s what it says on the show’s IMDb page, but it was so much more than that, but if I start waxing poetic now, I won’t get to the other shows on my list. I’m still a little bitter this ended after one season, and it’s what started my distrust with CBS.

9. Three Rivers

three_rivers_tv_series-877249290-large.jpg

As you can tell, this was another show that starred the delicious-looking Alex O’Loughlin. Three Rivers was a show about the lives of organ donors, the doctors, and recipients of the organs at Three Rivers, a preeminent transplant hospital in Pittsburgh. As you can see on the poster for the show above, this also aired on CBS, so this getting canceled midway through the first season is really what solidified my distrust of CBS, and though the third time is most definitely the charm for Alex, who currently stars in the reboot of Hawaii 5-0 (also on CBS), I haven’t watched more than half of that first season because I have this thing where I feel like if I do watch a show I like, it’ll end up canceled, and then to see it last as long as it has, makes me think, irrationally, that I’m the problem. So, thanks, CBS.

giphy.gif

8. Wicked City

wickedcity2_0.jpg

So. This show. The IMDb page says that this show was about a “pair of LAPD detectives track down serial killers terrorizing the Sunset Strip.” What someone left out is the fact that this show took place during the 1980s. ABC pulled Wicked City after three episodes because, apparently, they’re even more impatient than CBS when it comes to ratings. I just recently found out that Xfinity has finally added the show and all eight episodes to their OnDemand menu, but I have yet to finish watching it because in case you can’t tell, I’m still bitter. I still think this show got canceled so quickly because of how it was promoted by ABC. The trailers made it look like it was a Bonnie & Clyde type of pair, but three episodes in and Erika Christensen’s character was still on the fence about Ed Westwick’s character, even after learning what he was. The two just didn’t connect. The show and the trailer, I mean.

7. The Good Guys

thegoodguys.jpg

This show is what started my distrust of FOX programming. This is what put Colin Hanks on my radar, and I enjoyed this show because it was funny, and witty, and fucking creative, but it somehow didn’t get the solid audience FOX was looking for (it often takes more than one season, people, stop it with the instant gratification).

6. South Beach

qKB7yM5aSfe3x5d2IH0ZrZpiuZW.jpg

This show had such a great cast (pictured above), and starred the late Lee Thompson Young, who would eventually go on to Rizzoli and Isles on TNT, along with Vanessa Williams and Giancarlo Esposito (I’ve loved everything he’s starred in; he’s such a versatile actor, but I love him best when he’s kind of evil). This show also introduced me to Marcus Coloma (the hot guy in the middle), and the setting was just beautiful to look at.

5. Awake

awake-2.jpg

This show was my first foray into Jason Isaacs as an actor outside of the Harry Potter realm, and I loved how complex this show was. He played a detective who lost a loved one in a car accident, and his brain had him living in two different realities. One was real, one was a dream, and it was essentially the audience’s job to figure it out. I think that’s partly why this show didn’t last long, because it required you to think, but I also think it didn’t last past one season because I don’t see how they could get a second season out of it, anyway. It was still a damned good show, and I’m still sad that it was canceled.

4. Flashforward

maxresdefault.jpg

This show was exciting to watch. It was about a special task force in the FBI that investigated a seemingly impossible occurrence after everyone on Earth blacked out and awoke with a short vision of their future. The plot was kind of all over the place, but I was still sad when I heard it got canned. I guess it was another one of those “too complicated for audiences” shows that made you think. That’s probably why reality TV is so fucking popular…

3. The Secret Circle

Cassie_3.jpg

I can’t talk about this one without sounding bitter and angry, so I won’t. Just know that, five years later, I’m still pissed it ended on a cliffhanger. Haven’t forgiven The CW Network yet, and I probably never will.

2. Forever

tumblr_n9y66eLmbP1tsr93so1_1280.jpg

I swear to Christ, Ioan Gruffud must have the worst luck with American television. I don’t think any of the shows that he’s been a part of have gone past a first season, let alone a second (I became aware of him when he was on Ringer). This was such an amazing show, I’m still pissed at ABC for canceling it. There was so much potential.

1. Almost Human

tumblr_nartypmx4d1s9qqfgo3_r1_500.gif

I will never not be pissed that FOX canceled this show before it could really get started. But it’s also kind of their fault, because the episodes all aired out of order, which just led to so much confusion for the viewer, myself included, so they kicked their own asses there. The .gif I used above is a blooper, in case you couldn’t tell. I chose it because it shows just how well the chemistry was between Karl Urban and Michael Ealy, and why their chemistry inspired the “Jorian” (John [Kennex] + Dorian) ship. I actually boycotted FOX for a good while by not watching their programming… but then Empire happened, and I couldn’t resist.

. . .

So, there you have it. My first Top Ten Tuesday post. Can you see why I wanted to partake in it this week? I watch too much TV, but not as much as I used to, which is mostly because of my favorites only getting one season. For me, what’s even the point of getting attached to a cast of characters if the network’s only going to snatch them away without warning?

And speaking of television, I am now going to go binge watch season one of Lucifer for funsies until the second season starts in a couple weeks.

Happy reading (and watching)!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

