Tag: Bookish Book Lover

booktag.jpg

Hey-o! So, many thanks to Jasmine over at How Useful It Is for tagging me in this. I know it’s been quite awhile since I’ve posted anything, but with work and the fact that it’s my jury duty week this week and I haven’t had any ideas on what to post, I’ve just been trying to read as much as possible.

Anyway, this is the Bookish Book Lover tag, and after reading the questions and answers on Jasmine’s blog, I’m pretty excited to jump right into it.

But first: this tag was originally created by Shantelle Mary.

The Rules:

Use the Banner.

Answer the Questions.

Use Lots of Book Covers.

Tag Your Bookish Friends!

Line-break-small-02.png

What books are you currently reading?

lg-privatePPB.jpg51Iev-iqOIL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

I’m reading two; Private is being read on my iPhone, and then Sanctum because my goal was to get back to the books on my Currently Reading shelf on Goodreads and it’s the second of three that I’m choosing to tackle.

What’s the last book you finished?

9780316361644_p0_v4_s1200x630

I vowed to myself when September arrived that I was going to finish this book, and I did. Oh, hey–so I do have an idea of what to post (I’m just too lazy, that’s the real problem, lol). Quickie review to come soon-ish, I hope. I have the next day off from work, and if I don’t have to perform my civic duty tomorrow, I’ll work on it then.

Favorite book you read this year?

51khWutZqCL._SX325_BO1,204,203,200_

Probably The Great Gatsby because this was my initiation into F. Scott Fitzgerald, and I chose to read it during #BookTubeAThon for the “Read a book that’s older than me” challenge, and really, this was the oldest book I could find that I’ve actually wanted to read, and I’m so glad I did. He was such a poetic writer, and now his last unpublished stories are set to be released sometime in 2017, and I think I’m obsessed.

What genre have you most this year?

Young Adult. Apparently, I’ve been on a YA kick this year.

What genre have you read least this year?

Queer lit, I guess. I think I’ve only read one, compared to last year when I couldn’t read anything but LGBT novels. Correction: when I couldn’t read anything but Josh Lanyon novels.

What genre do you want to read more of?

Middle-Grade. Now that I’ve had a taste with This is Not a Werewolf Story, I can’t get enough. The Gathering: Shadow House 1 will be the next middle-grade book I read, and I’m saving that for my October TBR because it’s horror and I’m a horror whore junkie.

How many books have you read this year, and what’s your goal?

I’ve read 21 books this year, and my goal is 50. I’ll probably lower it again next year, and go from there.

What’s the last book you bought?

Out of all of these, It is the one that I am most excited to read in spite of its monstrous size. Closely followed by The Gathering and This Savage Song, which will be my first foray into Victoria Schwab as an author. I know she’s well-loved in the book community, and I’m curious, so I can’t wait to read her latest.

What book are you saving up to buy next?

lunar-chronicles-by-marissa-meyer.png

I actually had no intention of ever reading this series, but then I found out that Marissa Meyer lives in the same city as me, so now I feel like we have some kind of kindred connection. Or something. Plus, there’s a giveaway of Cinder on Goodreads that I just entered, so there’s that.

How many books did you check out last library visit?

Zero, but only because I haven’t had the time to go to the library, period.

What’s a book you cannot wait to read?

9781501142970_p0_v2_s192x300

I’ve already mentioned how excited I am, so yeah, this one.

What’s a series you’d recommend to everyone?

Well, it ain’t Maximum Ride, I can tell you that. If you’re into queer lit like I am, or are curious about Josh Lanyon and why I keep bringing him up, I guess I’ll recommend his Adrien English Mysteries series, because that’s how I fell in love with his writing and why he’s pretty much the only author that I trust to give the male perspective authentically, for obvious reasons.

Who’s an author you’re hoping writes more?

Sandra Evans. I want more of This is Not a Werewolf Story.

A few books your heart adores?

What series’ coming conclusion makes you sad?

I don’t know about sad, but the thought of finally finishing the Maximum Ride series pisses me off because I know what’s coming, just not the why.

What books are on your wishlist?

I have too many to name here, so I’ll just list the last ten that I added on Amazon.

Mirror Image by Michael Scott
Unwind (Unwind Dystology) by Neal Shusterman
High Stakes: A Wild Cards novel by George R.R. Martin
Cold (a John Tiplady Thriller, Book One) by John Sweeney
A Gentleman in Moscow by Amor Towles
Rules of Civility by Amor Towles
Brain Storm (Death Investigator Angela Richman) by Elaine Viets
Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami
The House of the Spirits by Isabel Allende

And I tag…

You, you, and… you. Stop ducking; you can run, but you can’t hide.

3 thoughts on “Tag: Bookish Book Lover

    1. harasnicolereads

      I was just so impressed with Fitzgerald’s writing, and that last line is still stuck with me, it’s so profound. But yeah, As Old As Time was a pre-order because despite what I’ve seen others say about A Whole New World, I do enjoy the retellings and I think I’d love this one (because yeah, Beauty and the Beast) as well as Once Upon a Dream, the Sleeping Beauty one.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

