Top 5 Wednesday – 9/14/16

wednesday

Oh, hey, you guys. Doesn’t it feel just like yesterday that I saw you guys? 😉

I skipped out on last week’s Top 5 Wednesday, in case you hadn’t noticed, because to be completely honest, I don’t love that many characters to the point that I wished they were family. I just don’t. Friends, sure, but family? Nah.

Anyway, this week’s theme is “Books You Want to See as TV Shows,” and y’all know how much I love watching television, so this should be easy. I think. Maybe. I hope?

Now, I’m going to actually try and use books that I haven’t talked about much, or at all, but no promises. Let’s just jump into it:

line-break-small-02

5. Illuminae

img_2863

I can see this on, like, SyFy, or something. Not only is it set way into the future, but the hacked dossier-style format could be played around with. Who knows, maybe a TV show would be more engaging than the book…

aMgG2jh.gif

4. The Blue Bloods series

631a30057652d34bb3f7f3f7765acdcc.jpg

I don’t know how it’d work, but I can see this being a show, too. They’d have to keep the same format as the books, though, in which I mean every episode can be a different character’s point-of-view. It’s been awhile since I’ve read the books, but I’d like to get back to them at some point, just as soon as I can get my hands on the others that came out after Misguided Angel.

3. The Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy

dosab__span

I may have not read the second or third books in this series, but the details (that are fuzzy now) in the first book when I read it, I was able to actually see the action taking place. I was going to say that making this into a television show could make me watch Freeform, but I’ve heard mixed reviews of Shadow Hunters, so maybe it’d be best to just put this show on SyFy instead. They may be able to do it more justice, anyway.

2. Thirteen Reasons Why

thirteenreasonswhy

Now, this one I can see on a network like Freeform. They want to be “edgy,” right? Well, what’s more edgy than doing one season of thirteen episodes about a girl who committed suicide and left cassette tapes explaining what led up to it and why each person was involved some way, somehow? I say one season because I really can’t see this going past that, but when I read this book earlier in the year, I was fascinated by the cassette tape aspect of it, that I actually went on YouTube to take a listen for myself. I’m telling you, if you haven’t read the book already, listening to the tapes as you go along makes for a more immersive experience. At least, to me, it did.

  1. Trust the Focus

trust-the-focus-1-1.jpg

I was going to add another book in this one’s place, but then I remembered this book and basically had a Eureka! moment. It’s about two guys who are best friends, and one is in the closet terrified to come out, and they go on a road trip together. Or well, technically, the main character is driving cross-country for his father’s… campaign, I think, and he brings his best friend along and they make a road trip of it. It’s a great story, and they’re relationship evolving into something more romantic was beautifully written, but I’m getting off track. I’m mentioning this book because of the road trip aspect, because I’m a sucker for road trips (even though I’ve never been on one), and there’s photography involved (I’m a sucker for that, too). I just think the imagery for the show could make it amazing, and considering that this is LGBT romance, I feel like it’d fair better on a network like LOGO.

line-break-small-02

This was a lot harder than I thought it’d be. The first three came to me, no problem. It’s those last two where I got stuck and ended up trolling all the books I’ve read on Goodreads to see if any of them would work as TV shows. It’s hard when the ones you want to say already have show adaptations, but I did it, and thank God it’s over now.

See you in the next blog.

**Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month!**

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – 9/14/16

Leave a Reply

