Review: The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines, with Mark Dagostino

41cdyynbhvl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

Amazon | Goodreads

line-break-small-02

Chip and Joanna Gaines both attended Baylor University in Waco but their paths did not cross until Chip checked his car into the local Firestone tire shop where Joanna worked behind the counter. Even back then Chip was a serial entrepreneur who, among other things, ran a lawn care company, sold fireworks, and flipped houses. Soon they were married and living in their first renovated home. Four children and countless projects later, Joanna garners the attention of a television producer who notices her work on a blog one day.

In The Magnolia Story, fans will finally be able to join the Gaines behind the scenes to discover what their life together really looks like. And though home improvement might be their day job, you’ll learn how their love of home and family inspires everything that they do.

line-break-small-02

I don’t usually go out of my way to read autobiographies or memoirs or whatever, but I just love Chip and Joanna Gaines, and their kids, and their television show. As much as I watch HGTV, “Fixer Upper” is the one that I look forward to the most.

Anyway, I thought this book was cute. You really get a feel for who Chip and Jo are as people, as individuals and as a couple alike, and you get to see how they didn’t always have it “easy.” You can also see their personalities on every page. Chip is such a ham on the show, I guess I shouldn’t be so surprised that he’d be a ham in their book, too, because I found myself actually laughing aloud in some points. As someone who’s not in any way religious, who’s agnostic at best, I love that they give credit to their successes to God without being self-righteous or sanctimonious about it. Chip and Jo know what it’s like to struggle, but they’re an inspiration of perseverance and tenacity if ever there were one.

Joanna talks about her life before she met Chip, to how the two of them met, and how she had a whole different plan for her life until he came around. Chip does the same, talks about his life before Joanna, about his entrepreneurial spirit. We got to relive their walk down memory lane, and you can just feel the love that they have for each other. They’re better together than they are apart. It’s just really beautiful to see in a world that’s seemingly so full of hate and violence.

It’s a pretty quick read, if you don’t have any other prior engagements (like work), and each page gripped from the first to the very last. Speaking of which, I can’t wait until Joanna’s design book comes out because I need it. Like, yesterday.

4-5-stars

One thought on “Review: The Magnolia Story by Chip and Joanna Gaines, with Mark Dagostino

  1. Gah I need this book!! I’m not huge into memoirs and the such either, but if it’s people I genuinely love and am interested in, I need to read it. That’s how I feel about Lauren Graham’s memoir coming out at the end of this month. Must have!

    They seem like such amazing and genuine people. I would love the chance to be able to meet them one day.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

