TBR: Tome Topple, Round Two

Hey, guys! It’s time for another read-a-thon, and this one, if you couldn’t tell by the title of this blog post, is round two of an already existing one. I participated in the first round, though I wasn’t as active, and I’m going to participate in the second round.

But first: for those who don’t know, Tome Topple was created by Sam at *Thoughts on Tomes over on YouTube, and there’s even a Goodreads group now! Round two starts at midnight wherever you are on November 18, and goes until 11:59pm wherever you are on December 1.

Last time, I chose the first book in A Song of Ice and Fire to “topple,” but didn’t finish, WHICH IS TOTALLY OKAY. That’s not the purpose of this read-a-thon, to finish the book. It’s really just a way of motivating you to read those long-ass books (over 500 pages) that have been sitting on your shelves forever. At least, that’s my takeaway from it. I still have yet to finish A Game of Thrones, but I will someday, and I thought I was going to use it again for this next round of Tome Topple, but I decided that I wanted to try something else first. One book I wanted to do last time, but chose not to, and another is one that I recently bought that is the first in a new series.

  1. The Book Thief, by Markus Zusak (552 pages)

51lk1ngak6l-_sx317_bo1204203200_

I’ve been wanting to read this one since I bought it, but I think it intimidates me because, from what I’ve gleaned, you either love it or you hate it. I did pick it up one day and read a few pages, enjoyed them, but ended up putting it down because I don’t think I was ready to read it just yet. Well, I’m ready now, so let’s do it.

b7vNtay.gif

2. Moon Chosen, by P.C. Cast (597 pages)

Moon Chosen_FINAL.jpg

This is the first book in the new Tales of a New World series, and the reason I bought this book is two-fold: the inside flap intrigued me, and the cover is absolutely gorgeous. I’ve never read anything by this author before, but I have heard of her because I was gifted with the first book in theΒ House of Night series that I believe she co-wrote with her daughter. I didn’t read it because I’ve had that book for years and the longer it sat on my shelf, the less I wanted to. So, it’s one of the books that I unhauled, and I couldn’t be more relieved.

giphy.gif

So, there you have it! The two books that I’m going to try to get to sometime between November 18 and December 1, and now I have to figure out which one I want to tackle first.

Maybe I’ll take a page out of Negan’s book and play Eeny, Meeny, Miney, Moe…

.

.

…too soon? πŸ˜‰

.

.

* The link will take you to Sam’s video announcement on her channel, not her channel itself. Just thought I’d warn you in case you didn’t know where the sound was coming from, as it opens in a new tab.

7 thoughts on “TBR: Tome Topple, Round Two

    1. harasnicolereads

      I thought about reading Illuminae. I need to go back to it at some point, but I’m probably going to have start over because I don’t remember what I read. πŸ˜‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

