T5W: Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017 | Dec. 7, 2016

top2b52bwednesday

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month!

It’s that time of the week again, folks! It’s also a brand new month, which means brand new Top 5 Wednesday themes. Surprisingly, I didn’t have as much difficulty choosing the books this week like I normally do, and my only guess is because these are the books that have been on my mind, anyway, so I suppose I should just jump right on in, right?

In case you hadn’t noticed, I started putting what Top 5 Wednesday is in a quick little blurb at the top of this blog (but underneath the photo), but just to give credit where it’s due, the weekly meme was created by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and is now hosted by Samantha (Thoughts on Tomes). Click their respective links if you want to be taken to their channels.

Okay, now that that‘s out of the way, I can finally jump into this. So, without further ado, and in no particular order…

giphy.gif

line-break-small-02

1. The Magicians by Lev Grossman

6101718.jpg

I bought this right around the time the first season of the show ended because I had no idea that it was actually based on a trilogy, and I wanted to see if I’d love the books as much as the show. I want to finally get to this in 2017 because season two premiers next month, and maybe I can already have book one finished by then, but who knows.

2. Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

{149A8054-E2A3-4616-97D6-0E3809521683}Img400.jpg

I’ve put this book down long enough. I think I’m finally ready to pick it back up and actually read it this time, and push through where I previously stopped, which was about 110 pages into it. If I like it even half as much as everyone else raves, then maybe I can finally grab Gemina, but only because I want to instead of because I feel like I have to.

3. Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

28686840.jpg

I’ve heard great things about this one, too, as well as about the author, so I think the reason it’s taken me awhile to read this is because the hype is, admittedly, intimidating. I bought this book because the summary on the inside of the dust jacket piqued my interest, but everyone raving about it has made me hesitate. I hope to finally get to this before 2017 is done, and it hasn’t even begun yet.

4. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

img_2900

I started reading this book earlier in the year, but put it down for some reason. I’m not sure why, as I loved every bit that I’d read, but if I had to hazard a guess, I’d say that it was because I was also reading about five or six other books at the same time, and I just couldn’t keep up anymore because I was beginning to feel overwhelmed, or Overbooked (heh), hence the blog name.

5. Girl Online by Zoe Sugg

Zoe_Sugg_-_Girl_Online.jpg

I don’t know why I originally bought this book, but I can say that despite it being blatantly on the cover, I didn’t connect the dots that this is YouTube ‘star’ Zoella’s pet project. It’s been sitting on my shelf for who knows how long, and with more books in the series and the fact that I’ve recently re-subscribed to Zoe’s channel after years, I think I’m more in the mood to read this than ever, so I definitely want to get to this in 2017, finally.

line-break-small-02

All right, so there you have it.These are the five books I came up with that I finally want to read in the coming year, even though it should’ve been impossible to narrow down because I have so many. #booknerdproblems

What made your list?

See you soon.

-Sarah

7 thoughts on “T5W: Books I Want to Finally Read in 2017 | Dec. 7, 2016

Leave a Reply

