T5W: 2017 Goals | Jan. 4, 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month!

It’s a brand new month, and a brand new year! We’re only four days into 2017, and already it feels like it’s going by too quickly. Kind of. Not really. Maybe once it hits February.

Anyway, I’m back for another Top 5 Wednesday post. It’s a pretty simple one this week: 2017 goals. This doesn’t have to be reading goals, precisely. It can be any kind of goal; personal goals, writing goals, anything. Mine will probably be a mix.

Let’s get on with it, shall we?

decorative-lines-17_large1

1. Journal more.

I’ve always wanted to keep a journal, and have tried on many occasions, but just never stuck to it on a consistent basis. Every new journal I bought, I’d write in it for, maybe, a couple of weeks and then forget about it, only to pick it back up months later, write one entry about absolutely nothing, and then forget about it again, only this time for good. I think the reason I have such difficulty keeping a journal is because I don’t think there’s anything even remotely interesting that’s going on in my life that I’d like to document. That, and I never know where to start. So, I want to try journaling again, and possibly start out small, like making lists. One of my ideas is to write down everything I would like to accomplish in 2017, and then perhaps work on making it happen.

2. Change up my YouTube channel.

Currently, I do have a book-related YouTube channel. The problem, however, is that I don’t upload nearly enough, and I’m beginning to understand that I don’t have as much of a passion for uploading my own bookish videos as I originally thought I had. It’s hard to come up with video ideas when nine times out of ten they’ve already been done by bigger named YouTubers, and it’s a struggle to make each one your own with your own personality showing through it. For the last couple of months in 2016, I’ve been seriously thinking about making my YouTube channel into another one of those opinionated channels where I discuss my thoughts on what’s going on not only in the United States, but possibly around the world. It’s only a thought at the moment, but one that has some merit.

3. Socialize more.

There’s nothing wrong with being a homebody, but I often think about calling an Uber or a Lyft and going out to a bar some nights just because I’d like a drink and it’s kind of pathetic to drink alone. There’s this dueling piano bar I went to for a friend’s 21st birthday one year that I absolutely loved, and I’ve wanted to go back since but hadn’t wanted to go alone. Now that I’m 30, I don’t mind the ‘alone’ part, but it’d be nice to be around other people that’s not my mom for a change.

4. Improve my work ethic.

This one I just mean to be more active in finding a job, and to stop dreading talking on the phone so much. Not all potential employers will contact you about a job position via email or text, so I need to be more open about answering my damned phone when someone calls.

5. Don’t apply to out-of-state jobs if I’m not seriously considering relocating.

This one’s pretty self-explanatory. As much as I’ve been thinking about moving out of my home state to one with a more lower cost-of-living, it’s a lot intimidating. And, anyway, it’s not like I can exactly pick up and move right away, because I’m broke and haven’t found another job, yet. The one place that gave me a chance, as well as experience, I don’t have anymore because it came back that I inadvertently sold tobacco to a minor, and now I don’t trust myself in a cashier position in a store that sells cigarettes or alcohol or both.

decorative-lines-17_large1

Looking back at those goals, I wasn’t expecting myself to get so personal, but I guess I had some things that I needed to get off of my chest. I won’t lie, I do kind of feel better, lighter, and I think I have another idea of where to start with the first goal.

But I also won’t lie and say that there isn’t a part of me that wishes I had stuck to bookish goals instead…

raw.gif

Leave a Reply

