T5W: Debuts I’m Excited for in 2017 | Jan. 11, 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month!

This one wasn’t easy.

It still isn’t, to be honest. In fact, I’m having such a difficult time coming up with five debut novels that are set to be released in 2017 that, as I type this, I’m literally scouring the internet to see what’s actually set to debut. Really, though, I really want to talk about the sequels that are coming out this year, but that will defeat the purpose of this week’s topic. So, just know that this post will include five debut novels that I only just found out about, and are the ones that called to me the most.

Off to the internet I go!

tumblr_ngaz51oaYw1u539lno1_400.gif

Pretty sure a lot of these books won’t be as exciting as they are just simply interesting…

5. Frostblood (published January 10, 2017)

27827203.jpg

So, this is the first in a trilogy. Anything fire and ice I’ve always loved, and while the cover is absolutely gorgeous, the description, for me, leaves a lot to be desired. It’s all ready out, but since I remain unconvinced, I may just read a sample of it either on my Kindle Fire or on Amazon if they have it available.

4. Speak Easy, Speak Love (Fall, 2017)

There’s no cover for this one, yet, and honestly, I don’t even know why I added it. The description of the book on Goodreads calls it a “retelling of Shakespeare’s Much Ado About Nothing,” but set in the 1920’s prohibition era. I think I added this one because speakeasies, and prohibition, in general, have always fascinated me. They’re my favorite things to learn about from the 1920s. Hopefully, by the time Fall comes around and this book is released, I’ll have drummed up a bit more excitement.

3. Empress of a Thousand Skies (February 7, 2017)

30269126.jpg

I’ll let the description speak for itself:

Empress
Rhee, also known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a DroneVision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he’s forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

A saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy.”

2. You Don’t Know My Name (January 10, 2017)

31128860.jpg

This is probably the only one on this list that I can say I’m actually excited for. Going through the 2017 Debut Authors Challenge list on Goodreads, I saw this book off to the side, and clicked on it, and I was intrigued enough to add this one. I just love spy-type stories, and it’s just came out as well, but I don’t know when I’ll have time to buy it so that I can read it.

1. Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (2017)

There isn’t a cover for this one, either, and I kind of just slapped this one on and called it a day. Thankfully, after reading the description on Goodreads, I learned that it’s definitely a book that I’m interested in reading. It’s a reimagining of the evil queen from Snow White based on Asian folklore and mythology. I don’t read as many Asian-themed novel, I’ve noticed, so one of the things I’d like to do this year is to expand my reading into subject matter I tend to stay away from, whether it’s consciously or subconsiously.

line-break-small-02

And there it is. My half-assed Top 5 Wednesday of 2017 debut novels that I’m marginally excited for. Or, at least, interested in reading.

Feel free to share your lists down below in the comments, and I’ll do my best to check them out.

— Sarah

2 thoughts on “T5W: Debuts I’m Excited for in 2017 | Jan. 11, 2017

Leave a Reply

