New Year’s Resolution Book Tag | 2017

img_mouseover3.jpg

So, it’s been awhile since I’ve done a tag post, and while I cruising around on YouTube like usual, I came across one of Jesse’s videos (@jessethereader) where he did this very tag, and I was like, “Oh, hey. Now this one sounds interesting.” Because, you know, a lot of book tags these days, to me, are all kind of asking the same questions. The only thing different is the arrangement of words. This one is taking that long-standing tradition of New Year’s Resolutions and making it about books. Which is perfect, since this is a book blog. The original video can be found here, at Charr Frears’ YouTube channel.

The tag consists of a total of twelve (12) questions, and I won’t tag anyone in this, but if you’d like an excuse to do this tag, too, then consider yourself tagged.

giphy.gif

line-break-small-02

1. An author you’d like to read (that you’ve never read before): There are so many to choose from. Before This Savage Song I would have said Victoria Schwab, but since I have, I guess I’ll just go ahead and go with another author whose books I already own. So maybe Marissa Meyer (The Lunar Chronicles), Rick Riordan (Percy Jackson), James Dashner (The Maze Runner), and… that’s all I can come up with off the top of my head. So, yeah, probably one of them.

2. A book you’d like to read:

6101718

Mostly because the second season starts soon, and I’d at least like to get started on this trilogy.

3. A classic you’d like to read: Again, so many, but I think I’m going to finally pick up this one at some point within the next few months:

9781435141230_p0_v1_s192x300.jpg

4. A book you’d like to re-read: Oh, man, where do I even begin?

Just to name a few…

5. A book you’ve had for ages and want to read:

61RpEdRQI5L._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I got this as a gift from my French teacher in high school, and for some reason haven’t read it. I don’t know why. Da Vinci is probably my favorite person in history, such a complex man, but this and the workbook that came with it, have been sitting on my shelf for over a decade.

6. A big book you’d like to read:

aiop-square-orig.jpg

I used this photo because it’s the cover that I own, but yeah. This has been on to-be-read list for awhile now, and only bought it after the miniseries aired on The History Channel. It’s an important part of history, and if I want to read more diversely, well. Can’t get more diverse than this monster of a book. But it’d be worth it.

7. An author you’ve previously read and want to read more of:

  • Victoria Schwab
  • Ellen Hopkins
  • Leigh Bardugo
  • Sandra Evans
  • Sarah Dessen (she will never not be on this list)
  • Nicholas Sparks (I have three of his most recent that have yet to be read)

…and that’s all I can think of off the top of my head.

8. A book you got for Christmas and would like to read:

index.jpg

This is the only I got for Christmas this last year, but first I have to read the other Maze Runner books.

9. A series you want to read (start and finish):

  • The Lunar Chronicles (thanks to the author living in my hometown)
  • The Maze Runner
  • Percy Jackson and the Olympians (I think that’s what it’s called)
  • A Darker Shade of Magic (I will binge everything V.E. Schwab thanks to TSS)
  • The Grisha Trilogy

10. A series that you want to finish (that you’ve already started):

  • A Song of Ice and Fire
  • The Gemma Doyle Trilogy
  • Daughter of Smoke & Bone
  • Maximum Ride (still on the last book)
  • Blue Bloods

11. Do you set reading goals? If so, how many books do you want to read in 2014 2017? As of right now, my reading goal is five books, but I’ll bump it to 10 when I reach that, then five more subsequently.

12. Any other reading goals? Read more diversely. Read more non-fiction. Get out of the Young-Adult genre; there’s nothing wrong with YA, but a lot of the books seem to follow the same formulas, and once you’ve read one, you’ve kind of read them all.

line-break-small-02

And that’s that. Probably should have mentioned in the beginning that this tag is from 2014, but oh, well.

giphy.gif

Hope you all enjoyed reading this as much as I did answering. This was fun.

2 thoughts on “New Year’s Resolution Book Tag | 2017

  1. That Stephen Colbert gif is hilarious! I really want to read The Magicians too, and the Lunar Chronicle is amazing so far! I’ve read the first two and am really excited to read the rest. That is so cool that the author is from your hometown.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

