T5W: Favorite Things That Aren’t Books | Feb. 1, 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month! It’s currently hosted by Samantha at Thoughts on Tomes.

Hey, guys!

It’s that time of the week again. It’s also a brand new month, and the first day just so happens to coincide with Top 5 Wednesday, and today’s topic is basically just to get us to take a break from the books this week with: Current Favorites That Aren’t Books. In other words, it’s kind of like a freebie week, where you can talk about the top five favorite things you’re enjoying right now besides books.

I honestly thought that this would be such a no-brainer for me, but when I started to think about what my favorite things are, it turns out that it wasn’t as easy as I thought it’d be. This week’s topic opens you up to a plethora of things, from TV shows to music to whatever you can think of, essentially. I’m just going to jump right into it.


5. Lucifer

acd657cbd1a18b241a92c883f4c4aded.gif

I know that I’ve talked about this show before, but it’s getting talked about again because it’s such a damned good show. The writers are fantastic, the actors are fantastic, and the Winter finale that aired this past Monday was fantastic. Oh and Tom Ellis, who plays the title character, he seems to be the most humble, down-to-earth person ever, judging by his Twitter. It kind of sucks that I have to wait until May for the rest of Season Two to be aired, but they weren’t expecting to be picked up for a full season and only filmed the first 13, so now they have to film the back nine, I think. Anyway, go check it out. I’m sure you can find the first season somewhere if you need it.

4. 13 Reasons Why on Netflix

maxresdefault.jpg

Obviously, it’s not out on Netflix, yet, but it will be, and I’m hoping that it will be everything that I have ever wanted it to be, because I know I said in a previous post (I can’t even remember which one at the moment) that I would love to see this book as a miniseries somewhere. I think I originally said that Freeform could do it since they’re trying to be all edgy now, but Netflix works, too. In fact, I think Netflix would be better, anyway, because they’d have ample opportunity to stay as close to the book as possible. Also, they’re kind of killing it with the original series that they have, so that’s a bonus. It’s produced by Selena Gomez, I hear, and while I’m not sure how I feel about Hannah Baker being cast as a brunette instead of a blonde (it’s how I pictured her when I read the book, mostly because of the cover), I’m still excited to see this book come to fruition. It premiers March 31, 2017, on Netflix.

3. Bruno Mars

39884e59e250045334850e4f2e746002.500x500x1.jpg

Just… I don’t know. I love him. I love this album. I love the leading single “24k Magic”. He’s just a brilliantly talented musician who has a way with music and nobody can compare to him, and I don’t know why anyone should even try. So many great songs on this album, and Bruno Mars, himself, just seems like a fun, funny, humble, down-to-earth person ever, always down to have a good time. Ugh. I love him so much.

giphy.gif

Okay. I’ll stop. Moving on…

2. “Make Me (Cry)” by Noah Cyrus [feat. Labrinth]

noah-cyrus-make-me.jpg

Yeah. Miley Cyrus’ baby sister has a single out now, and it is amazing. Dare I say, it’s better than anything Miley has done? I love Miley Cyrus’ music, I do, but her songs, to me, always end up getting played out eventually and then they’re just annoying me to the point that I delete the song(s) off of my iPhone. This song, Noah’s voice, I have a feeling that this will be one of those songs that I can listen to forever and still be amazed by it and never grow bored of it. That doesn’t happen a lot with me when it comes to music. The only other musician that falls in that category has already been mentioned in this list. Go give this song a listen, and then maybe download it on iTunes, because it’s worth it.

1. Gardenscapes

unnamed.png

Of all the games I have on my phone (a big, whopping three of them), this is the one that gets the most play. It’s a match-3 game, where you inherit not just an old relative’s mansion, but the garden as well, and you have to complete levels to earn enough stars to fulfill the tasks that will clean up and redecorate your garden. The game gets frustrating the higher up in levels you go, and it does become a kind of money pit, but aside from that, this game still gets the most play.It’s fun. Give it a try, if you want.

Honorable Mentions: The Magicians, Suits, top knot buns, The Chew, coffee, booze…

 

 

4 thoughts on “T5W: Favorite Things That Aren’t Books | Feb. 1, 2017

  1. i absolutely! i’d never really watched anything like that before and then binged season 1 and now i’ve been watching season 2 as it aired! SO GOOD. and Tom Ellis is just the perfect devil! and i completely agree with you on Bruno! the man is a gift to the music world!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

