T5W: Book Trends You’re Tired Of | Feb. 8, 2017

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly book meme officiated in November 2013 and is still going strong! Join the group to become a T5W-er and check out the topics for the current month! Currently hosted by Sam @ Thoughts on Tomes.

So, I was going to film a video for this week’s topic, but after several takes and some camera issues that I didn’t want to figure out at the time, I decided that posting my choices in written form would be better, as it gives me more time to gather my thoughts together so that I’m not stumbling over my words. Which I would have been doing had I uploaded to YouTube.

Anyway, by the title of this post, you’ve probably already guessed that this week’s topic is Book Trends You’re Tired Of. For a better explanation, see here:

What are some things you are tired of seeing that are trends in publishing? Maybe something that pops up on a lot of covers these days, or the popularity of certain tropes in a particular genre? Let it out!

Part of the reason I couldn’t gather my thoughts well enough to film a video for this is because I didn’t exactly have the book trends that I want to mention completely listed then. So, let’s get right on in it.

5. Love Triangles — Mostly, this one’s on the list because of Stephenie Meyer, and Twilight. I hadn’t read very many love triangles until after New Moon came out, and then with The Hunger Games, and suddenly it’s everywhere. I’m sure it can be done right without it coming off as lazy, but honestly, I’d rather just not read one at all, if I can help it.

4. Insta-Love — If you’re somehow unfamiliar with this term, it’s basically when two characters meet and there’s a mutual attraction; which, that’s not my issue. My issue with insta-love is when it’s written unrealistically. Like A Court of Thorns and Roses, for example. Feyre and Tamlin are two characters who go from hating each other one second, to being all hot for the other the next. Or in the book that I’m currently reading, Both of Me. This one has a different type of insta-love: the female character (Clara) is attracted to the boy (Elias) after maybe three days of being around him, and I have no idea if he even feels the same. She’s always the one to initiate something, whether it’s a hand to hold, or a kiss on the lips. The latter pisses me off, because their first kiss was Clara forcing Elias into a kiss that he may not have even wanted. So, yeah, insta-love. While love-at-first-sight is possible for some people, the way it’s written most of the time is completely unrealistic.

3. Characters Who “Let Out Breaths They Didn’t Know They Were Holding” — This one isn’t entirely a book issue. When I’m not reading physical books, I’m reading fan-fiction, and I see this phrase way too much: I released a breath I didn’t know I’d been holding. I do sometimes catch that phrase in books, and when I do, I just roll my eyes so hard, I’m surprised they haven’t gotten stuck, yet. Mostly from female characters, too, because I guess it’s supposed to be romantic, or something. I can understand breathing heavier from arousal, or just… I don’t know, breathing, but no. Authors have to make it dramatic and make characters forget how lungs work.

6g9yb_s-200x150

2. Ball Gowns on Covers — This may sound harsh, but if there’s a surefire way for me not to read a book, it’s because the covers feature beautiful, young women wearing formal ball gowns. In case you haven’t guessed, this is why I’ve completely avoided The Selection series. I just think that ball gowns on covers make the books seem cheesier than they probably are, even they’re not.

1. “Mean” Girls — You know the type. Main Character arrives at a new school, and she’s suddenly the bane of the popular girl’s existence for no godforsaken reason. Only for it to be revealed that the reason MC is hated is because of, 1) she’s “prettier” than the popular girl, 2) MC has the attention of the hottest boy, or 3) some other inconsequential reason that makes no sense.Today’s society already has us pitted against each other; why can’t females just be friends in the books? Throw in some realistic envy, jealousy, whatever, I don’t care. Just knock it off with the bullying.

giphy.gif

So, there you have it. Those are the five book trends that I’m tired of seeing, that I could think of off the top of my head.

Next week’s topic is all about non-written novels (manga, graphic novels, comics, etc.), and since I haven’t ready just yet, I’ll probably end up skipping that one.

Have a goodnight/day/wherever you are.

4 thoughts on “T5W: Book Trends You’re Tired Of | Feb. 8, 2017

  1. Completely feel you on the mean girls and ball gowns. Ball gowns are pretty but we need some cover variety! And I don’t mind mean girl books but I really only read them if it has more depth to it and the girls don’t all hate each other etc. such as speechless by Hannah Harrington or How to Break a Boy by Laurie Devore

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Mystery Blogger Award

Leave a Reply

