“Lucifer” Renewed for Third Season

Y’all know how much I love Lucifer. I think I’ve only brought it up twice in past blogs not counting this one, and both times I’ve essentially waxed poetic about it nonstop. So, you can probably imagine my surprise when the network on whic the show airs, FOX, made the decision to give it a third season for 2017-18.

May have been something like this…

best-excitement-gif-416547.gif

Though I’d be hard-pressed to say otherwise:

tumblr_oh339dD4hE1vb0789o1_400.gif

Anyway, for those of you who somehow don’t watch the show, or know what it’s about, it starts out with the Devil taking a holiday from ruling Hell, and he sets up shop in Los Angeles, California. Lucifer is a nightclub owner, and there, anything goes as far as he’s concerned. It is another police procedural (he helps solve murder cases as a liaison), but at the same time, it kind of isn’t. The show has a lot of heart, a lot of humor, a lot of wit, and it’s all blended together so effortlessly. The writers, I’ll say it again, are fantastic.

So is the cast, by the way. They’re also fantastic. From Tom Ellis (Lucifer) to Lesley-Ann Brandt (Mazikeen a.k.a. Maze) to Lauren German (Detective Chloe Decker) to  Kevin Alejandro* (Dan Espinoza a.k.a. “Detective Douche”) to D.B. Woodside (Amenadiel) and Rachel Harris (Dr. Linda), they all just bring their respective characters to life, making them three-dimensional, and it’s just beautiful to see week after week.

There are a couple new characters that were introduced in Season 2. You have Aimee Garcia who’s joined on to play Ella Lopez. I forget what her exact title is, but I think she’s the new Medical Examiner. Don’t quote me on that. Then there’s Tricia Helfer who plays Charlotte, an attorney, but she’s also someone who is closely related to Lucifer. There’s a lot there to be explained, but if you haven’t seen the show, I won’t spoil that for you. And I can’t believe that forgot all about Dan and Chloe’s daughter, Trixie. She’s a smart little girl who notices everything, and she’s such a fan of Lucifer; she’s always so happy to see him, and he’s always so awkward.

I honestly don’t want to say too much more about the show because I know myself, and I know that if I keep talking, I’m going to go into detail over what happened in the mid-Winter finale and spoil everything. As someone who absolutely abhors spoilers, I try not to do that to anyone else. But it’s hard when you just love a show so much that you want to talk to someone about it and can’t because they either haven’t watched the episode yet, or don’t watch the show at all. This goes for all shows on television, not just Lucifer.

Currently, as you’ve probably guessed, the show is on their mid-Winter break, but I just checked the IMDb page for the show and can tell you that it is due to return on May 1. They weren’t expecting to be picked up for a full season, so had only filmed thirteen episodes. Now they’re busy filming the back nine. I guess that’s the week after FOX’s new show, “APB,” which took over the Lucifer time slot for the time being, ends its first season.


*Fun fact about Kevin Alejandro: If you watched the show True Blood on HBO at all, you may recognize the name as the actor who played Lafayette’s witch-doctor (I forgot what he was, but witch-doctor seems to fit; there was a lot of voodoo going on) boyfriend Jesus.

Leave a Reply

