I didn’t read very many books this month, but it was still a pretty good one. I’m just going to jump right into it:



1. Both of Me by Jonathan Friesen — I picked up this book because it has a character that suffers with dissociative identity disorder, but it’s so poorly represented, that I was disappointed by it. The character with DID, Elias Phinn, was written as if he’s a young child instead of the 18- or 19-year-old male he’s supposed to be. Which, as you can imagine, makes it awkwardly weird for the female main character, Clara (also the narrator) to feel attracted to him. That’s the other thing that I didn’t like: Elias and Clara are supposed to be love interests, but more than half the time Elias is like a deer in the headlights, and Clara made me feel uncomfortable because she forced her mouth onto Elias’ just randomly, and then later there’s some awkward dry humping in a stranger’s house. The chemistry just isn’t there, nor does it make a lick of sense.

2. You Can’t Hide (Shadow House, Book 2) by Dan Poblocki — This is a middle-grade book that has a free Scholastic app to accompany it. The first book was about five kids being summoned by Shadow House by different means, and the second book essentially picks up where the first left off. There’s maybe a small gap between the two, but it starts off with a bang, and this one’s all about trying to escape Shadow House. The sigils that you find throughout the book unlock a number of different Incidents that tell the story of a brand new cast of ghosts that you can’t decide if they’re helpful or harmful. It’s a good read, and I highly recommend the series.

The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde — This one I picked up to read for the TimeHopAThon that took place last week. There were five challenges, and one of them was to read a classic, and I chose this one because it’s been on my shelf for years and I’m trying to read more classics that I think I’ll like. I loved this one. I loved the descent of Dorian Gray into a world of vanity and selfishness and influence, and I especially loved that he was ultimately responsible for his own demise in the end. However, there was one chapter in there that confused the hell out of me (Chapter 11, to be exact) because I forgot what was even going on and why what I was reading was important, so I had to go back a few pages to refresh my memory. Oscar Wilde was a wordy man in the 19th Century.


So, that’s what I read for the month of February. If I really wanted to, I could finish the current book that I am reading (Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell) and add it to this list. I’m not too far from the ending, so who knows. There may just be an update to this post in an hour… maybe two. 😉

Leave a Reply

