I was thinking about doing a video for this, and I still might, but I figured that, first, I’ll talk about all the books that I read in the month of April.

Let’s just jump right in.



So, the first book that I read in April was my TBR Jar Pick for that month — Finding Audrey. This was my first Sophie Kinsella novel, and I didn’t hate it. I wasn’t expecting it to be a quick read, but it was. I rated it 4-stars on Goodreads, and the only thing I really disliked was how quickly Audrey’s budding relationship with Linus escalated. It came off as insta-lovey, especially with how Audrey suffers with such crippling anxiety that her “lizard brain” won’t let anyone touch her, but Linus comes along and suddenly they’re touching shoes which leads to thumbs which leads to mouths.

The second book I read was Suffer the Children by Craig DiLouie, one of two books that I received in my April Nocturnal Reader’s Box, and I absolutely loved it. It’s basically about vampire children. One day every child around the world just drops dead, and then three days later they’re resurrected with a thirst for blood. I loved this book because it’s such a different take on the typical vampire lore; there’s a science element added, and if the kids don’t get their blood, they revert back to their corpse-like state. It’s a story about parents who love their children so much, there’s nothing that they wouldn’t do for them. Even prostitute themselves for a pint or two of blood.

The third book was my second TBR Jar Pick for April — Truth or Die. This one was a fun read. It’s by James Patterson and Howard Roughan, and I was enjoying the ride up until the end. I loved the book, but the end, in my opinion, could have been better because it left me with the disappointed feeling, “That’s it?” It just seemed to wrapped up too nicely, and honestly, I’ve already kind of forgotten what the book’s even about. I think my 4-star rating was a bit generous…

The fourth and fifth books are part of a new series that I started from Annabeth Albert. Off Base and then At Attention. The third book, On Point comes out soon (I forget which day). The first book in the series I loved. It was everything I wanted in one of Albert’s books: hot, sexy, and full of heart, and I devoured that story as if it were my last meal. One of the characters (Zach) is in the closet (there’s that pattern, again) and a Navy SEAL who trades in the barracks for a house owned by his CO to live in rent free so long as he helps out with the renovations. The other character (Pike) gets a job offer in San Diego and needs to find a place to live. Zach and Pike aren’t exactly friends, but they do run in the same circle, and Pike is a total flirt, much to Zach’s dismay. Anyway, Zach reluctantly agrees to let Pike stay in the same house because Pike knows more about home renovations thanks to his mother. You can pretty much guess what happens from there. 😉

And finally, the sixth book is the one that I DNF’d at 53%. Capital Girls is billed as a cross between Pretty Little Liars and Gossip Girl, and it is to an extent, but in those two shows, I at least had characters that I adored. Not so with Capital Girls. From the little that I read, it’s basically a story where friendships are tested since the death of their other friend, Taylor Cane (not a spoiler, you find this out in the first chapter), and the remaining three are told to take new girl Whitney under their wings because her mother’s a gossip columnist and Whitney, dying for her mother’s affections, takes it upon herself to create drama for one of the girls because she’s that desperate. There’s also a character who’s the token Latina immigrant from Paraguay, and her father works in the embassy (but they somehow live in the ghetto), who’s pretty much nothing more than everyone’s lapdog.

The final straw for me, regarding Capital Girls, though, was when Jackie (who’s in a “perfect” relationship with the president’s son) gets caught in yet another scandal as if she didn’t just talk her way out of the one Whitney created a few days prior. Not only that, but the hot, new intern she has the hots for, Eric Moran? He talks her into being blackmailed just so he can get in good with his boss (who was the one that caught them damn near in the “act”).

Another thing that bothered me were the supposed ages. These girls are supposed to be seniors in high school, but it’s so easy to forget that and assume that, at the very least, they’re in their 20s instead of their teens.


All right, so those are all the books that I read in April. Not as much as March, which I think was ten, but still just as impressive.

At any rate, I’m past the halfway point in my Goodreads challenge for 2017. I set my goal to 40, and I’ve already read 24. Not bad at all.

Leave a Reply

