T5W | Fandoms I am No Longer In

I was originally going to do a video for this and upload it to my channel, but every time I hit record, the video ended up longer than it should’ve been, so blog it is.

If you don’t know all ready, Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly meme in the book community where you’re given a theme every Wednesday and you pick five books (or TV shows or movies, etc.) that fit that theme. It’s really fun, and anyone’s welcome. You don’t need to participate every single week; if there’s a week or two that you just can’t come up with anything, that’s okay! Just jump back in in the following weeks. It was originally created by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and is currently hosted by Sam (Thoughts on Tomes). If you want to join, or just want to check out the Goodreads group, click here.

This week’s topic is about the fandoms that you are no longer in or a part of. For this, I decided to talk about five of the fan-fiction fandoms that I am no longer in, because when I saw what this week’s theme was, that’s where my mind initially went, so let’s get to it. These are in no particular order…


#1. The Twilight fandom. If you didn’t know, I was pretty late to the Twilight party; I didn’t pick up the first book until Eclipse came out. I read the first one in a day, and then my mom bought me the next two, like, the day after that, and read those in a day each, as well. Then I discovered fan-fiction and my world was changed. I’ve read a lot of duds, but that was mostly because I didn’t know what to look for when I started reading fan-fiction; I wasn’t as in love with grammar and spelling then like I am now. Eventually, I even tried my hand at writing, but I suck at organization and my upload “schedule” left a lot to be desired, mostly because I couldn’t get my brain to focus on just one “plot bunny,” but several, and so I stopped. Then I discovered slash pairings (M/M romance), and my favorite, my go-to, became Edward and Jasper because it’s something about them that kind of works. Also, I really hate Bella after the first book and thought Edward could do better, so. Funny thing is, though, I was all about putting Edward with other people, but for some reason I could never wrap my head around someone wanting to do the same with Bella, so I never read stories where she was paired with Jake or Sam or Jasper, even.  I wouldn’t say that I’m completely out of this fandom, though. A few of my favorite writers still post stories and if I find one interesting enough, I’ll find myself sucked back in until the next one comes along, but for the most part, I’m kind of straddling the doorway; one foot in, and one foot out.

#2. The Danny Phantom fandom. This was my first ever fandom that I remember immersing myself into. If you don’t know, Danny Phantom was this cartoon on Nickelodeon about a boy who had his DNA rearranged in his parents’ basement lab when he went exploring a ghost portal one day, and he became half human and half ghost. The running theme of the show was Danny trying to keep his new identity a secret, not just from the public, but especially his parents, as they were ghost hunters. The only people who knew his secret were his two best friends, Samantha and Tucker. I don’t even remember how I found the fan-fiction fandom, to be honest, but I enjoyed it immensely. I wrote for this one, too. It was the first time that I actually wanted to write for a fandom, and I chose this one, and y’all. My story was not at all good. I had just finished watching a Danny Phantom TV “movie,” and the last scene, I think, had Danny and Sam kissing (the other running theme was their relationship, and the will-they-or-won’t-they), and I was curious about what could have possibly happened next, so I grabbed a spiral notebook and started writing. Next thing I knew, I had about eight chapters of material, so I got on the computer and typed it all up, and posted it to FanFiction.net, in all its grammatically incorrect glory, and it was apparently a hit. But then I crashed and ended up taking it down, and I wish I still had the original notebook pages because I’d totally show you guys how awful it was.

tumblr_m6x5tblazd1rys4czo1_500

Moving on…

#3. The Avatar: The Last Airbender fandom. Only thing I’ll say about this one is that I was the biggest Zutara shipper ever. I don’t know why I shipped Zuko and Katara together, because in hindsight, they’d never work, but the Zutara pairing was, as the kids say, LIT (I don’t even know if I used that correctly). It may have been because, even to this day, I have the biggest crush on Zuko and the fact that half of his face is scarred thanks to his father doesn’t diminish that for me. Also, I wasn’t 100% onboard with Aang and Katara, yet, so…

#4. The Harry Potter fandom. I didn’t read too many fan-fiction stories in this series to really be a part of it, but I stuck it here because I feel like it was a missed opportunity. I don’t even have a favorite “ship” other than HarryxLuna, but I never could find any decent stories with them. And I couldn’t even bring myself to jump on the HarryxDraco bandwagon.

#5. The Death Note fandom. This anime will forever hold a special place in my heart because it’s my gateway drug into anime, and when I was watching the series back when Adult Swim first aired it, I became pretty obsessed with Light and ‘L’ as a couple, and turned to fan-fiction to make it happen. I didn’t write for this fandom, only because I knew that I wouldn’t do the characters, or the world for that matter, any justice, so I stuck to finding stories that met my needs. There’s really not much more that can be said other than that…


All right, there you have it. The top five fan-fiction fandoms that I am no longer in no matter how much I love the characters. What are some of yours? If you participated in this week’s T5W, go ahead and leave a link in the comments and I’ll be sure to check them out.

Until next time,

Sarah
XOXO

5 thoughts on “T5W | Fandoms I am No Longer In

  1. WHY DIDN’T I THINK TO PUT TWILIGHT IN MY LIST?! Lmao damn it! I was such a Twihard until Breaking Dawn’s book came out and ruined everything for me. Great list! I’m still shamelessly in the A:TLA and HP fandoms. I always shipped KatAang, though. I wanted Zuko for myself hahaha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also wrote about Twilight, and I just read another blogger writing about it too! Oh what a boom that was… I didn’t even know Danny Phantom existed haha! I was more of a Disney Channel fan, I guess. Great list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. harasnicolereads

      Oh man, I was OBSESSED with Danny Phantom. It was probably first experience with fandom culture, and even though I’m no longer part of it, I’m still salty the show was canceled.

      Like

    1. harasnicolereads

      I actually still read the first book on occasion, because I feel like it was starting off on the right foot, and it remains to be my favorite in the entire series, but it quickly went downhill once New Moon came out, and continued all the way through Breaking Dawn.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

