Top 5 Wednesday // Series That Get Better

Top 5 Wednesday // Series That Get Better

Top-Five-Wednesday.png

It’s that time of the week again!

If you don’t know what Top 5 Wednesday is, it’s a weekly meme hosted by Sam (Thoughts on Tomes) where you’re given topics and then you choose five books that fit that theme. Or TV shows and movies, if you can’t come up with any books. If you’re interested in joining, click the link to the GoodReads group here.

For this Top 5 Wednesday, I will be discussing the TV shows in which I believe the series have gotten progressively better with each season because I couldn’t think of any books (Harry Potter only just came to me, but I already created this list, so we’re sticking with TV shows). A bit of forewarning: not every show on this list I’m 100% caught up on, and these are 100% my own personal opinion. If you don’t agree, that’s fine; make your own post about it.

tumblr_inline_nm2zcwA3JL1t7j9pc


No. 5: Charmed — I love this show with everything that I am. I re-watch it every time I catch TNT airing it weekday mornings, and while there are certain episodes that are not my “favorite,” the seasons as a whole got better as the series went on, I just fell in love with the sisters all the more, especially Piper and Phoebe. Paige took a bit longer, mostly because I loved Prue, but she grew on me in time. My favorite villain was Cole, and I loved that his “redemption arc” wasn’t really about redemption because he ended up going back to his evil ways and taking Phoebe with him, however briefly. Also, Leo and Piper are the original One True Pairing.

tumblr_lttgq0mDab1r3muhuo1_500

No. 4: iZombie — If you’re not watching this show, I don’t where you’ve been. It’s based on a graphic novel series, and while it’s incredibly different from that (from what people who have actually read the comics have said), it still holds it own. Rose McIver, who plays Liv Moore, does such an underrated, phenomenal job playing a character who not only eats the brains of corpses and gaining their personalities every week, but she somehow manages to maintain her own. The first season was great, but the two seasons that followed? Fucking amazing. It’s an ensemble cast, and each one makes the show what it is. From Ravi to Blaine to Peyton to Major to Detective Clive Babineaux, I highly, highly recommend this show and it was picked up for a fourth season, so get on it. Obviously not sponsored, but all three seasons are on Netflix.

izombie-6.gif

No. 3: The Walking Dead — This one is probably controversial, because not everyone thinks that this show got “better,” but progressively “worse.” A lot of it, I think, is because some viewers don’t like seasons that have more character development than zombies, or some don’t like the hoards of zombies and no character development. Honestly, I think a lot of people like to hate-watch this show, which I don’t blame them (I was hate-watching Pretty Little Liars by the fourth season, so I get it), but sometimes their “critiques” go a bit too far. Not every season is great, but that doesn’t stop me from enjoying the hell out of it. It has a little something for everyone, even the “haters.” Watch it or don’t, it won’t affect your life either way.

No. 2: Game of Thrones — This is probably my most polarizing, especially when it comes to the hardcore book nerds and those who have only watched the show without at least trying to read the books (I’m still reading the first one, but I’ve started the first season again and while things are definitely different, it’s connecting some dots for me, which makes reading the books so much easier). I know there are a lot of the hardcore book fans who dislike the show now because it’s getting into “spoiler” territory, which I can understand, given that the final book has yet to be written, but you would think that book fans would understand the most that adaptations will never be as perfect as you want them to be. We may all read the same books, but we don’t all imagine the same characters. Anyway, this current season that only just began is probably the first time I’ve legitimately been excited for a season of Game of Thrones. I can’t wait to see how it all pans out, knowing that there aren’t too many season left (I think maybe one or two).

No. 1: Ray Donovan — This is such an underrated show. It’s not for everyone, but at the same time, I still want everyone to watch it, if that makes sense. None of the characters have particularly “likable” traits, they’re all morally gray, but that’s what makes this show so insanely fun to watch. You have the title character, Ray Donovan, going around Los Angeles “fixing” other people’s problems while running away from his own. He’s not the nicest guy, but he loves the shit out of his family, his brothers, their dead sister, his wife and kids, even his lunatic of a father, though he’d rather not admit it. Liev Schreiber is probably one of the most underrated actors I have had the pleasure of watching, and though he’s nominated yet again for an Emmy, I hope to God that he finally wins one. The entire cast deserves all the goddamned awards, if I’m being honest. Give them the recognition they deserve. Also, Pooch Hall is in the show, too, playing Ray’s half brother because their father loves, loves, loves black women; they’re his weakness. He’s just an all-around hilarious character.

giphy.gif


All right, so that’s it for my Top 5 Wednesday choices. Can’t wait to see what everyone else came up with regarding books. I’m sure I’ll be doing a lot of face-palming at having forgotten something that’s not Harry Potter, lol.

Hope you enjoyed this, until the one…

-Sarah

 

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday // Series That Get Better

Leave a Reply

