July Wrap-Up // BookTube-A-Thon

July Wrap-Up // BookTube-A-Thon

July wasn’t a great reading month. In total, I’ve read four books, which isn’t bad, but the reason I say that July wasn’t a good reading month for me is because it was a slow one.

So, before BookTube-A-Thon, I started the month by finishing Flame in the Mist, and boy, was that a huge disappointment. If you’re curious about my thoughts on it, check out the review here. The second book I read was Safe in His Arms, which I haven’t written a review of yet, but it’s coming. It’s a story about a woman on the run from an obsessive ex-boyfriend because she witnessed something and before running, she stole a flash drive with evidence to put said ex behind bars. It is a romance, and I really loved it.

Next up is BookTube-A-Thon.

I had an ambitious TBR for this readathon, and by the time BTAT came to when it ended, I only read one book from that TBR and that Harry Potter. I re-read the first book back in May when the HP Readathon started, but then quietly dipped out because I was putting too much pressure on myself trying to keep up with everyone. By the time everyone had started the third book, I had only just finished the book, and it started feeling like a chore, which is the last thing I wanted to feel when reading Harry Potter. So, I chose Chamber of Secrets to be my “Read a Book in One Day” challenge, but that didn’t work out like I had planned. For some reason, I spread out my reading to four days, so I finished my first BTAT book on Thursday.

Originally, Night Film was on my TBR as my “Read a Book with a Person on the Cover,” but before BTAT, I felt myself falling into a reading slump reading it, so I had to set it aside for the time being. So, I swapped out that book for Harry Potter as my “person on the cover,” and then, because I wasn’t sure if I’d ever get to reading a book completely outdoors, I took advantage of the same loophole most people did and read the last chapter of Chamber of Secrets outside on my back porch.

The second book I read for BTAT completed both “Read a Book in One Day” and “Read a Hyped Book,” and that was A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness. I really loved this story, and read it in, like, four hours. You pretty much know from the beginning that this isn’t going to have a happy ending, but it’s such a great story about grief and the different stages, and Patrick Ness has earned his way onto my auto-buy authors list.


Now onto my August reading plans. I’m calling this my reading plans because I’ve come to learn about myself that even just calling it my Want To Read puts as much pressure on myself as if I’d call it my TBR, so I won’t be doing WTRs anymore; calling this my reading plans removes the pressure to read the books I name, and if I don’t get to them this month, that’s okay, I’ll just move them to the next month and so on.

Also, I’ve learned that I’m more of a mood reader than anything, so if I don’t feel like reading a book, I won’t read it.

Anyway, this month I plan to make this my month of ARCs and galleys, because I’ve been approved for 50 books on NetGalley and I’ve only read two. I’m trying to get better at reading galleys, so I want to finally make a dent on the ones that I’ve been approved for.

I also have a couple physical copies of ARCs that I want to get to at some point, as well. One ARC I won from a giveaway from Goodreads (a first!) and that was Alexander Hamilton, A Revolutionary. It’s a biography of Alexander Hamilton, and it doesn’t come out until September, but I’ve seen nothing but great things about it, so I can’t wait to read it myself and see if I’ll enjoy it as much. Thanks to the immense popularity of the Broadway musical, I’ve been interested in his story.

The other ARC I have isn’t so much an ARC as it is a soft copy of her novel, and I got it from the author via Twitter. Nights Arose follows a mixed-race Jamaican young woman, and that’s about all I remember from the back of the book. It has magic, voodoo, and I think there’s a conflict that the main character experiences involving some kind of heirloom she owns but it goes missing. Anyway, I can’t wait to read it, and it actually came out last November.

Until next time.

-Sarah

One thought on “July Wrap-Up // BookTube-A-Thon

Leave a Reply

