Library Sale Haul

Hey, so, I meant to blog about this yesterday (Monday), but completely forgot. And while I dislike doing more than one post a day unless it’s promoting a new book release, I figured that my last post was kind of glum. So, I’m doing a library sale haul.

Obviously, I went to my local library over the weekend. One branch of it, anyway. I only just discovered that my local library has a website and so I was looking at the calendar to see if there was anything interesting coming up, and I came across a library sale. There seems to only be one branch that has library sales (and there’s another one today, but the weather’s supposed to be close to 90-degrees outside, and I’d rather not melt, thanks), so I had to do a quick Google Maps to see where exactly the Wheelock Library is located. Turns out, walking-wise, I live forty-five minutes away and after turning the corner on one street, it’s a straight shot down. But it was Saturday, and it was hot, so I told my mom about the library sale and we just went in her car because air conditioning.

And it’s faster. Duh.

We both walked out of the library with a good haul, but I came out with the most because paperbacks were only $0.25 and hardbacks were $1.00. Anyway, this is what we came home with:

IMG_6733

Confessions of a Shopaholic: I’ve only read one Sophie Kinsella novel in my life, and that was Finding Audrey. While I didn’t hate it, I didn’t love it either, despite giving it four stars on Goodreads. I didn’t like the insta-lovey feel between Audrey and Linus, and I disliked the way Audrey’s sunglasses came off in the end like they weren’t practically glued to her face for 90% of the book, and I wanted to actually know how her anxiety came to be, Audrey’s parents kind of saved the book for me. But anyway, I saw these three on a table and, remembering how many people keep raving about this series (I’ve never even seen the movie), I figured I’d try something else by this author and see where I fall regarding if I like this series or not.

IMG_6734

Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince & the Deathly Hallows (UK Edition): When I went to the library sale, I wasn’t expecting to pick up anything Harry Potter, but I’ve never owned the UK editions of any book, so the fact that I found two for the last two books in the series, it seemed too good to pass up. And they’re in fantastic condition, too!

IMG_6735

The Stars of Mithra Trilogy (Hidden Star, Captive Star, Secret Star): I’ve never heard of this trilogy before, but Nora Roberts is one of my favorite auto-buy authors, so without having read the back of any of the books, I snatched these up and added them to my collection.

IMG_6736

Darcy & Elizabeth: Nights and Day at Pemberley: This one is what my mom bought. She has yet to read Pride & Prejudice as well, for the same reason as I haven’t: we can’t make it through the first page without falling asleep. When we got home, however, I took a closer look at the book and, apparently, it’s the second sequel following Mr. Darcy Takes a Wife. It has a gorgeous cover, but neither one of us knows when, if, we’re going to get to it.

Paris 1919: This one I picked up solely based on the title. I’m obsessed with Paris, and anything that involves the City of Lights, I’m going to buy. It’s about the Paris peace talks after World War I, the “war to end all wars,” which spanned six months in 1919 and follows The Big Three — President Woodrow Wilson, British prime minister David Lloyd George, and French premier Georges Clemenceau — as they met in Paris to “shape a lasting peace.” It sounds like it’ll be a really interesting read, as I love history of all kinds, not just the French, so I’m looking forward to finding time to get to it.

IMG_6737

Hannah’s List: This, and the one on the bottom are two more that my mom bought. She’s a big Debbie Macomber fan, partly because they share a first name, and partly because she just enjoys the stories, so this is just another to add to her extensive collection.

Christopher’s Diary: Secrets of Foxworth: I used to have a bunch of V.C. Andrews books back in the 1990s (dating myself, hi). I ended up getting rid of all of them, eventually, because nobody was reading them and it was just the better idea to let them go to another home where they’d potentially be well-read. Anyway, I want to start getting back to this author’s books and I had never heard of this particular series (there’s one more book that follows this one, I’ll have to find it somewhere, hopefully at another library), and I can’t wait to read it and see what it’s about because I skipped reading the back cover on this one, too.

A Pocket Full of Rye: I’ve never read an Agatha Christie book, if you can believe it. I own a copy of Murder on the Orient Express, which came in the box of the PC game of the same name. I used to have And Then There Were None, also coming with the PC game of the same name, but I got rid of it for some reason. A Pocket Full of Rye is probably one of two smallest books that were brought home. Again, I’ve never heard of this book, but I have heard of Miss Marple, know that her mysteries have become a series on PBS, but that’s about it.

Miss Marple: The Complete Short Stories: Like I said when talking about Hannah’s List, my mom bought this copy. I don’t know what more to say other than I can’t wait to read this collection because I feel like I’d love Agatha Christie and I don’t know what’s taken me so long, lol.

IMG_6739

The Christmas Hope: The last of my mom’s purchases. Besides Debbie Macomber, she also really loves Christmas stories. I don’t think she’s read anything by this author before, but this is a tiny book, probably would be classified as a novella, but it’s Christmas-themed and it’ll give her something to read when she can find the time.

IMG_6742

The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants: I loved the movies when they came out (still do, actually), and didn’t realize they were based on the book series until I paid attention to the opening credits one day. I’ve actually heard mixed things regarding these books, so I’m looking forward to seeing where I fall. I kind of wished more of the series were available, as well, but we’ll see how I fare with this first one before worrying about whether I want to continue on with the rest.

IMG_6744

A Wrinkle in Time: I’ve never heard of this book before the trailer hit YouTube, and everyone and their mother was flipping their shit and I’m over here like:

giphy

Anyway, imagine my surprise when I found this at my library, and then imagine it again when I found out that A Wrinkle in Time is apparently only the first book in a quintet, or five book series. May have looked something like this:

giphy

Or, you know, like this:

fchj

Or a combination of the two, but moving on…

Now I own A Wrinkle in Time and I can now see what all the hubbub is about.


By the way, my total came to $2.75, and my mom’s came to $3.75 because she bought the hardbacks, including my Harry Potter books.

Happy reading!

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

