Top 5 Wednesday // Second Book is Best

Top-Five-Wednesday

Time for another Top 5 Wednesday post! Before we continue:

Top 5 Wednesday is a Goodreads group originally created by Lainey (gingerreadslainey) and is now being run by Sam (Thoughts on Tomes). You’re given a prompt for that week, and you choose five books (or movies or TV shows if they fit) that fit that topic. Anyone’s free to join, so if you’re interested, click here for the group.

All right, so I didn’t think I was going to participate this week because I thought that I haven’t read enough series to have the opinion of which book is better, but before I went to bed last night, I scoured my bookshelves and found five pretty easily.

In case you couldn’t guess by the title of this post, this week’s topic is all about the second book in a series being the best.

–We’ve talked about series that went downhill, and series that are worth it, but which series were best in the middle?

Before we get started, I am willingly confessing to doing a bit of cheating on this one, because three of the books on my list are either duologies, or there are only two books currently out at the moment. I tried to find books that had more than two, but honestly, it was difficult because, A.) Like I said, I haven’t read enough series, or B.) The series I have read, I don’t remember what happened in the second book to know if it was good or not.

So, let’s get started.


5. Maximum Ride: School’s Out—Forever by James Patterson

9780316067966.jpg

The cover is hideous, I know, but the content between them is great. I’ve talked about being a Maximum Ride fan before, and even though the third book holds a special place in my heart because it’s the one that introduced me to these characters and their dynamics, this book in particular is so much better than the first, which is kind of slow. Still good, but slow. I don’t want to say too much, because it is the second book in the nine-book series, but it’s definitely one of the more fun reads.

4. You Can’t Hide (Shadow House #2) by Dan Poblocki

30985898

There are only two books in this so far, but I think the third book comes out sometime within the next couple of months. The first book, The Gathering, is still great, but it’s also just the first book, so there’s a lot of introducing of the characters and building up to the plot, so for some, it may read a little slow. This second book I love the most because, while the first is about gathering all the characters and bringing them into this haunted house, the second starts off thrusting you into the action from the first page. What makes this series my favorite, though, is the fact that Scholastic put out an app to go with it where you get separate “Incidents” and whole new cast of characters. To explain it easier, the book is Present Day, the app is the Past.

3. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

51sdYzYGOuL._SX334_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

It’s been years since I’ve read this series, so I don’t remember much (and I’ve only seen the first movie despite owning all four), but I do remember loving this book the best out of all three. The first is good, the third… I can’t even tell you how I feel about it, because I don’t know. I think I’ve been saying that it’s “not my favorite” because most everyone else says the same, and I’ve forgotten what all happened in Mockingjay, aside from the epilogue that was too cutesy for my taste.

2. The Rose & the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh

23308084

Honestly, I loved both books in this series, but I loved the second even more than the first because there was so much more action and it was a lot more fast-paced than the first. And honestly, as cutesy as the ending is, I was still somehow okay with it, but I think that was because I had such strong love for Shazi and Khalid.

1. Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo

5128y9FecAL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

I love Six of Crows, but this book. This. Book. It gave me all the feels. All. The. Feels. All the pairings I ship with my entire heart, especially one in particular, and even though I’ve only just read this duology in January, I feel like I’m due for a re-read because I miss my babies that much. Might do it after I finish the Shadow & Bone trilogy.


All right, so there you have it. Those are my choices for second book is best this week, and looking at next week’s topic, I’m still unsure if I’m going to participate.

Hope you’re all having a fantastic day. Until next time…

-Sarah

Leave a Reply

