Monthly Wrap-Up // September ’17

Hey. So… I’ve read a total of two books this month.

TWO.

Basically, my reading plan for the month went to shit really quickly.

But it’s fine. It’s fine.

giphy.gif

Kidding. It’s really fine. I’m not bothered. I’m just a moody reader, and while I spent a good chunk of this year reading book after book after book, I think I’m in that phase where I’m going through binges of not reading currently, so the fact that I read even two is kind of surprising.

Anyway, on to the books that I read:

35270169
Goodreads // Amazon

The first book that read was an e-ARC of Penthouse Player by Tara Leigh, and while I did a brief review for a tour that I hosted on this blog (here), if you want to see a more in-depth opinion about the book, you can checkout my review on Goodreads here.

Synopsis: “Abandoned by her mother and spurned by her father, Reina St. James is tired of being treated like a dirty little secret. It wasn’t easy making her way into the high-risk, high-reward Wall Street world ruled by financial kings and trust fund tyrants. But now that she’s got a stiletto-clad toe into one of the swankiest firms in Manhattan, Reina is determined to prove she’s more than just a pretty face hiding an ugly past.

For Tristan Xavier Bettencourt IV, escaping the shadow cast by generations of family fortune has been difficult, and success hasn’t come without sacrifice. Tristan has always put business before pleasure… Until Reina’s curved lips prove an invitation he can’t resist.”

Walking away from their explosive night together won’t be easy, even if the heat between them might consume both of their careers. Will Reina and Tristan risk everything by betting on each other?

Briefly, I did enjoy Penthouse Player, but the investment banking aspect went right over my head, and the character who’s said to be a “player” was anything but. The chemistry between Reina and Tristan was sizzling, though, and I liked the banter, but it was still pretty predictable. When one character decided to open up to the other and reveal some secrets, I knew exactly how it was going to go down, but it didn’t take away a whole lot of the enjoyment. Either way, I gave it 3.5-stars.


11133791.jpg
Goodreads // Amazon

The second, and last, book that I read this month was Tilt by Ellen Hopkins. This was my second book of hers that I’ve read, and while I did give it five stars because I enjoyed the ride and the emotions that this novel invoked in me, I did feel like Ellen Hopkins became a bit preachy when it came to Mikayla’s decision regarding her pregnancy, and seemed to be trying really hard to turn her readers away from the thought of abortion. While I don’t like the idea of it, myself, I felt like the author could’ve stepped off her soapbox. While the final decision felt right to the character, it wouldn’t be the end of the world to have two characters who had an abortion, and I would’ve liked it more if the one character who did go through with it wasn’t made to feel like she was “weak” for making such a choice. I mention all of this now because I didn’t include it into my review when I wrote it, but it’s something that’s been on my mind for awhile.

I should also probably mention that Tilt supposedly follows a similar story line as Ellen Hopkins’ adult novel, Triangles, but I haven’t read that one, so I can’t speak on it. Tilt is from the points-of-view of three teenagers, with a bunch of random points-of-view scattered throughout that I loved.

So, yeah, those are the only two books that I read in September. Next month I’m hoping to get a little creepy because it’s my favorite month, what with Halloween and all, and I still need to decorate my bookshelf, which means I need to find my orange lights from last year. I can’t remember where I put them, and this is going to bug me until I do.

How was your reading month? As slow as mine? Or did you just read ALL the books?

Until next time,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

